Monday, December 01, 2008

Sex Pistols - There is No Future

The Sex Pistols are an English punk rock band that formed in London in 1975. The band originally comprised vocalist Johnny Rotten, guitarist Steve Jones, drummer Paul Cook and bassist Glen Matlock. Matlock was replaced by Sid Vicious in early 1977. The Sex Pistols are widely credited with initiating the punk movement in the United Kingdom and creating the first generation gap within rock and roll. Although their initial career lasted only three years and produced only four singles and one studio album, Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's the Sex Pistols, the group has been described by the BBC as "the definitive English punk rock band."
The Sex Pistols emerged as a response to the bombastic progressive rock and sentimental pop music that predominated in the mid-1970s. Under the guidance of impresario Malcolm McLaren, the band created controversies which captivated Britain, but often eclipsed their music.[6] Their concerts repeatedly faced difficulties with organisers and authorities, and public appearances often ended in mayhem. Their 1977 single "God Save the Queen" was regarded as an attack on the monarchy and British nationalism. In January 1978, at the end of a turbulent US tour, Rotten left the band and announced its breakup. Over the next several months, the three other band members recorded songs for McLaren's film version of the Sex Pistols' story, The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle. Vicious died of a heroin overdose in February 1979. In 1996, Rotten, Jones, Cook and Matlock reunited for the Filthy Lucre Tour; they staged two further reunion shows in 2002, and undertook tours in 2003, 2007 and 2008. On 24 February 2006, the Sex Pistols were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, but they refused to attend the ceremony, calling the museum "a piss stain".

1.Pretty Vacant / 2.Seventeen (I'm a Lazy Sod) / 3.Dolls (New York) / 4.Satellite / 5.No Feelings / 6.I Wanna Be Me / 7.Submission / 8.Anarchy in The U.K. (demo version) / 9.Anarchy in the U.K. (new version) / 10.No Fun / 11.God Save the Queen / 12.Problems / 13.Pretty Vacant / 14.Liar / 15.EMI /

** year - 2001
** Label - Sanctuary Trojan Us / Brazilian Edition
** Home-page -
** Buy - Amazon

|Hangover Heart Attack Links|

(( key to open the files = hangover ))

1 comment:

dz said...

Nice work man! I love this album, in fact I was inspired to write a post up of it on my blog
after I saw it on Punk Not Profit. Feel free to add this to your list of blogs if you like. Keep up the good work, I love your blog.