Monday, December 01, 2008

Angelic Upstarts - Reason Why ? @VBR

The Angelic Upstarts are an anti-fascist, socialist working class Oi! punk and skinhead band formed in South Shields, North-East England in 1977. More than two decades after its release, their debut single, "The Murder Of Liddle Towers", was included in Mojo magazine’s list of the best punk rock singles of all time.The original lineup was Thomas Mensforth (Mensi) on vocals, Ray Cowie (Mond) on guitar, Steve Forsten on bass guitar, and Decca Wade on drums. The band has reformed and split a few times, and former members include bassists Ronnie Wooden, Glyn Warren, Tony Feedback, Ronnie Rocker and Max Splodge (who also had a stint playing drums). Other drummers have included Sticks (who later joined Cockney Rejects), Paul Thompson (ex-Roxy Music) and Chris White. Wade rejoined the band for a few years before leaving again. Hayes originally joined the band as second guitarist until Mond left, leaving Hayes as the only guitarist. Mensi was the only original member still in the band.
In August 2006, Mensi announced he was resigning, however he requested that the band continue with Chris Wright (of the band Crashed Out) on vocals. The band's lineup became Wright on vocals, Dickie Hammond on guitar, Neil Newton on guitar, Gaz Stoker on bass and Wade on drums. In the latter part of 2007, Mensi rejoined the band and the lineup became Mensi on vocals, Stoker on bass, Hammon on guitar, Newton on guitar and Brett Mulvaney on drums.

1. Woman in Disguise
2. Never Give Up
3. Waiting, Hating
4. Reason Why
5. Nobody Was Saved
6. Geordies Wife
7. Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner
8. 42nd Street
9. Burglar
10. Solidarity
11. As the Passion
12. Young Punk
13. Where We Started

** year - 1983
** Label - Cherry Red Records
** Home-page -
** Buy -

|Hangover Heart Attack Links|

(( key to open the files = hangover ))

1 comment:

Zach said...

Awesome band