Saturday, October 25, 2008

The Vertebrats - A Thousand Day Dream

In the late 1970s and early 1980s, Champaign/Urbana, IL, gained some notoriety as a college town with a surprisingly great independent music scene (along the lines of Athens, GA) -- one of the bands that pioneered and set the tone for the town's scene in the '80s was the Vertebrats, whose occasionally wonderful post-punk tunes gained enough recognition for the Replacements to cover one of them. A Thousand Day Dream, released through the C/U label Parasol, collects a great deal of the band's recordings, some of which is semi-brilliant and some of which is not -- the band takes its Clash, Rockpile, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Ramones, and Neil Young influences into the sort of American post-punk territory (Replacements, Husker Du, Mission of Burma) one would expect, and with laudable results. Parasol's package includes extensive liner notes from members of the band and from Paul Budin of the Outnumbered, a C/U band that followed very directly in the Vertebrats' footsteps.
~ Nitsuh Abebe, All Music Guide

1. don't think about it
2. how come
3. any day now
4. johnny avante
5. hang on to your man
6. psychedilia
7. big yellow bus
8. left in the dark
9. diamonds in the rough
10. jackie's gone
11. teen seen
12. robbery
13. put your toys away
14. some like it hot
15. turn on your face
16. try again
17. every once in awhile
18. up till then
19. mystery of love
20. oklahoma
21. honey bee
22. this before

** This album is OUT OF PRINT on Parasol. You can buy the Remaster and re-issued version on Reaction (link below on BUY ME!!)

.. Year: 1993
.. Label: Parasol
.. Country: U.S.A.
.. Bitrate: VBR (0)
.. BUY ME:
.. Home-Page:

|Heart Attack Link|
[[[ pass - hangover ]]]

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

thank you for this out of print gem