Monday, August 18, 2008

Couch Of Eureka - Year of The Zombie

Chris Colland of Couch sez: We are from Eureka! (duh). A burned-out industrial town on the coast of North California. We formed in the summer of '93 and since have been on many '93 and since have been on several small tours, had many personal crises, put out a few recordings, lost a drummer and gained his cousin, amongst other things. More recently we have added the suffix "Of Eureka" to the name Couch for several reasons. When we formed we needed a name to play shows and that's as good as it got. Especially with the ever increasing list of one syllable bands, We soon realized we didn't like the name. Helping us along with the name change was the band Couch from Ann Arbor Michigan with the same name threatening legal action upon seeing our debut 7". TA MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT, NEITHER OF US HAD A COPYRIGHT ON THE NAME COUCH AND SINCE THEN COUCH OF ANN ARBOR have broken up and we changed our name anyway. Oh well...
This record is taste of zombie action, some sweet sharp teeth in your neck. Derailed pop music from the last frontier of culture on the west coast, Eureka California. This is an arresting and engaging melodic catastrophe. The Couch of Eureka span the musical spectrum with noticeable influences such as the Replacements (check out their cover version of -I'm In Trouble') and the Spacemen Three. Produced by Greg Freeman, who has worked with Smog, Pell Mell, and The Thinking Fellers Local Union 242. The vinyl version of this record is limited to 1000 copies, and the CD contains the recordings from this group's debut seven inch ( and has an incredible cover of -Three Girl Rhumba' by Wire). The Couch Of Eureka has created one of the most charged pieces of music in 1996. It whispers like a lover, but bites like an alligator.

1. Numb and Screwed
2. Year of the Zombie
3. I'm In Trouble
4. Ego Train
5. I Got the Boom
6. Songs
7. Furs
8. Styx Bridge Toll
9. (Let's Go)
10. Three Girl Rhumba
11. Go Get Your Own Death

- Year: 1996
- Label: Lookout Records
- Bitrate: 192 kbps
- Genre: Punk
- Country: USA

[ pass - hangoverhard ]

1 comment:

Zach said...

Couch is amazing! Track 6 is my new favorite song!!