Wednesday, February 06, 2008

MINUTEMEN: Live in Geneve (1983) @VBR

More than any other hardcore band, the Minutemen epitomized the free-thinking independent ideals that formed the core of punk/alternative music. Wildy eclectic and politically revolutionary, the Minutemen never stayed in one place too long; they moved from punk to free jazz to funk to folk at a blinding speed. And they toured and recorded at blinding speed; during the early '80s, they were constantly on the road, turning out records whenever they had a chance. Like their peers Black Flag, Hüsker Dü, R.E.M., Sonic Youth, and the Meat Puppets, the Minutemen built a large, dedicated cult following throughout the United States through their relentless touring. Like their fellow American indie bands, the trio was poised to break into the world of major labels in 1986, and they would have if it wasn't for the tragic death of guitarist/vocalist D. Boon in December of 1985. Even though bassist Mike Watt and drummer George Hurley carried on with fIREHOSE in the late '80s, the legacy of the Minutemen overshadowed the new band in the late '80s and early '90s, as the San Pedro trio influenced several generations of musicians.
D. Boon and Mike Watt began playing music when they were teenagers in the mid-'70s, covering '70s hard rock standards. After they graduated from high school in 1976, they heard their first punk rock records, which marked a significant change in their musical development. Once Boon and Watt heard punk, they began writing their own songs and decided to form their first full-fledged rock & roll band. In 1980, the pair assembled a quartet called the Reactionaries, which featured drummer Frank Tonche and a second guitarist. Within a few months, their second guitarist left and the band changed their name to the Minutemen, since most of their songs were not much longer than a minute in duration. They recorded one single with Tonche before he was replaced by George Hurley. After Hurley joined the band, the Minutemen recorded Paranoid Time, their first EP; the record was released on SST Records in 1981. From the start, the band was eclectic and political, but they didn't find their voice until their first full-length album, 1981's The Punch Line... more >>>>

1. static
2. fake contest
3. joy
4. search
5. dream told by moto
6. '99
7. black sheep
8. the tin roof
9. ack ack ack
10. life as a rehearsal
11. self-referenced
12. one chapter in the bool
13. beacon sighter through fog
14. the only minority
15. cut
16. i felt like a gringo
17. ain't talkin' bout love
18. this road
19. my part
20. polarity
21. fanatics
22. joe mccarthy's ghost
23. plight
24. paranoid chant

** pw =
D** Link :-))))


stogref said...

Just another mega-superthanks!!!
Need i say you fucken ROCK! :)

Erich said...

wonderful! thanks much!!

Anonymous said...

thank you so much for all of the minutemen boots- I study music and usually end up getting wound up in more academic stuff all day- it's been kind of fucking my life up.

this stuff is helping remember why I started making music in the first place. thank you so much