Sunday, July 29, 2007

GANG OF FOUR: Solid Gold / Another Day / Another Dollar

Gang of Four's second album is a far more jagged affair then their classic debut "Entertainment". Solid Gold is a much more bass and drum oriented record with Andy Gill's static slashing hoving above. Solid Gold has held up as my favorite GOF album. With the addition of "Another Day Another Dollar" this is a must have - To Hell with Poverty is a classic dance club track from the mid-eighties and the live version of "What we all want" with it's 'in the face' bass brought to the front of the mix are fantastic. Just for clarification, Solid Gold and Another Day were the combo released first (by Rollins), then the mix of SG and Hard which I thought a bit confusing as it skipped "Songs of the Free" which was GOF's third album and quite a strong release (dave allen left and formed Shriekback with Barry Andrews (ex of XTC) and Sara Lee (League of Gentlemen with Robert Fripp) took over the bass duties - J. Cornett

1. Paralysed
2. What We All Want
3. Why Theory?
4. If I Could Keep It for Myself
5. Outside the Trains Don't Run on Time
6. Cheeseburger
7. Republic
8. In the Ditch
9. Hole in the Wallet
10. He'd Send in the Army
11. To Hell with Poverty!
12. Capital (It Fails Us Now)
13. History's Bunk!
14. Cheeseburger [Live]
15. What We All Want [Live]
pass - hangoverhard

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I,m looking for their cd "songs of the free" if you have it,please post it.Thank you for all the nice uploads.