Thursday, September 07, 2006

J.D. Salinger (1995)
Label: Lookout Records
Covers: Yes
Format: mp3 (192kbps - HQ)
HHA Rating: 9.5
pw =

Wow! What do you get when you mix equal parts Green Day brand enthusiasism and pop sensibility, with Descendent's-like musical complexity and deconstruction of the worlds of both "alternative" and punk rock? You get this record. This record is packed with great songs and gems like their brilliant cover of the Power Rangers' theme song that remind me of the Dickies. This is not your typical Lookout Records three chord punk rock, by the numbers outing. This is a real album that's obviously planned and well thought out. Songs like "Rescue", "Pack Rat", "Childhood Game" and "Dylan" just make me keep putting this one back in my CD player. Why didn't these guys get huge? I predict that this record will, like great underappreciated-in-their-time bands such as the Velvet Underground and Wire, inspire dozens of other bands to take up the punk rock cause and not fear injecting humor into their work. Damn fine record.
1. Untitled
2. Drownded
3. Jessica
4. Rescue
5. Untitled
6. Break
7. Childhood Game
8. Crazy, Man
9. Untitled
10. Downtown
11. Deep End
12. Pack Rat
13. Untitled
14. Untitled
15. Untitled
16. No One Ever Listens
17. Untitled
18. Untitled
19. Dylan
20. Untitled
21. Untitled
22. Now's Th' Time
23. Untitled
24. No, You Suck
25. Untitled
26. Catfish Discipline
27. Squirrel Happy
28. Untitled
29. The Great Rock'n'Roll Swindle
30. The Bogus Track

===== ))))) DoWnLoAd ((((( =====


Catfish_Hunter said...

I was lucky to see these guys live about half a dozen times in the early to mid nineties. The bay area was chock full of exciting bands at that time, many of the venues where I saw bands like the Winona Ryders play, such as the Berkeley Square and Trocadero Transfer, are gone now.

I remember when this album was released, I bought it right away and loved it.

They were a really fun band to see live, I remember people used to go crazy when they played their uber-rocking version of "Kids in America."

Those were the days...

Nagiants40 said...

I totally agree with you...

Thank's for the comments...


shaolinpunk said...

Dang, the files have expired. Any chance of these being put back up?
Also, a couple of requests if you got 'em:
411 - Thoughts that feed the fire EP
Reason To Believe - The Next Door EP & When Reason Sleeps, Demons Dance LP
Mad Parade - S/t LP
M.I.A. - After The Fact LP


Zach said...

Can you repost? This looks good!