Friday, September 08, 2006

Citizen Wayne (1997)
Label: Epitaph / Ada
Format: mp3 (128kbps)
HHA Rating: 9.0
pw =

Brother Wayne Kramer is best known as one of the founders of the legendary MC5, despite several fine solo albums, of which this is the fourth. While there are several examples of the high-energy, Detroit-style hard rock ("No Easy Way Out," "Down on the Ground," "Snatched Defeat") he helped invent that show he's still better at it than anybody, what really makes this album stand out is the more experimental tracks, like "Back When Dogs Could Talk," "Count Time" and "Dope For Democracy," that combine producer David Was' penchant for electronics and the rap production styles Kramer admires with his trademark gritty vocals and lacerating guitar. Kramer may be the inventor of one rock legacy but he has no problem contributing to another. He's also one of the most intelligent and articulate lyricists in rock 'n' roll, whether he's discussing current politics or his own musical history, and he's still quite possibly the best electric guitarist around. He's also incredible live. All of his albums, either solo or with the 5, are great and should be in any comprehensive rock music collection; Citizen Wayne, while lacking the visceral punch of The Hard Stuff or his work with the 5, is his most inventive and accomplished album yet.
1. Stranger In The House
2. Back When Dogs Could Talk
3. Revolution In Apt. 29
4. Down On The Ground
5. Shining Mr. Lincoln's Shoes
6. Dope For Democracy
7. No Easy Way Out
8. You Don't Know My Name
9. Count Time
10. Snatched Defeat
11. Doing The Work
12. A Farewell To Whiskey

===== ))) dOwLoAd ((( =====


Slobodan Burgher said...


Anonymous said...