Saturday, September 02, 2006

Blind (1991)
Label: Combat Records
Format: mp3 (192kbps)
HHA Rating: 9.5
pw =

By the time they released 1991's Blind, crossover pioneers Corrosion of Conformity were pursuing a decidedly metallic direction, but this in no way compromised their punk ethic, overtly political lyrical themes, and incredible sonic aggression. The wicked melodies of "These Shrouded Temples...Remain" bookend the album, and excellent tracks like "Damned for All Time" and "Mine Are the Eyes of God" manage to be both utterly heavy and surprisingly catchy. "Dance of the Dead" and "Echoes in the Well" are about as straightforward metal as C.O.C. gets, but their politically militant roots are fully displayed on "White Noise" and "Great Purification" -- both scathing attacks on racism. The gentle, meandering chords of the instrumental "Shallow Ground" offer a brief respite from the onslaught, but then lead into the album's fiercest moment, "Vote with a Bullet." Constructed on an extremely distorted riff and featuring equally fuzzy, computer-processed vocals from guitarist Pepper Keenan, the song is a sonic precedent for the countless aggro-thrash bands (Korn, Fear Factory, Limp Bizkit, etc.) which dominated the late '90s. Years ahead of its time, Blind is simply one of the most important heavy rock albums of the decade.
- - by Ed Rivadavia - -
(song list)
1 - these shrouded temples....
2 - damned for all time
3 - dance of the dead
4 - buried
5 - break the circle
6 - painted smiling faces
7 - mine are the eyes of god
8 - shallow ground
9 - vote with a bullet
10 - great purification
11 - white noise
12 - echoes in the well
13 - ... remain
14 - condition A/condition B
15 - future now
16 - jim beam and the coon ass

(((( D-Link ))))

No comments: