Saturday, September 02, 2006

Animosity (1984)
Label: Combat Records
Format: mp3 (192kbps)
HHA Rating: 9.0
pw =

Released in 1985, this second full-length Corrosion of Conformity offering features Mike Dean (bass and vocals,)Reed Mullin (drums), and Woody Weatherman on guitar. Just as the N.C. group's lineup constantly shifted, so did their music. While still plenty hyper, Animosity has a bit more metal mixed in with the hardcore punk of the band's debut, Eye for an Eye. Weatherman's guitars and Mullin's drums get a more sophisticated studio treatment, creating a thicker sound that reflects a mid-80s thrash influence. C.O.C. weren't following any trends, they just incorporated all the things they liked about thrash, punk and '70s metal originators Black Sabbath into their constantly evolving brand of down-home hardcore. The politically charged lyrics that marked the group's early-career progressive outspokenness are very evident on tracks like "Mad World" and "Intervention." With its thematic and sonic improvements to their successfully established punk, Animosity secured Corrosion of Conformity's artistic and commercial credibility. - - by Vincent Jeffries - -

(song list)
1 - loss of words
2 - mad world
3 - consumed
4 - holier
5 - positive outlook
6 - prayer
7 - intervention
8 - kiss of death
9 - hungry child
10 - animosity

(((( D-Link ))))

No comments: